## Indian mathematician to receive the \$ 10.000 Ramanujan Prize

Professor Ramdorai Sujatha (44), Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, will receive the Ramanujan Prize for 2006. The prize carries the name of Srinivasa Ramanujan (1887-1920), India's greatest mathematical genius of the 19th century. It was established to honour young mathematicians who have conducted outstanding research in developing countries.

The Ramanujan Prize is supported by the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters through the Abel Fund, with the cooperation of the International Mathematical Union. The Abel Fund was created in honour of the great Norwegian mathematician, Niels Henrik Abel. – The prize thus links the names of two extraordinary mathematicians, says Professor K.R. Sreenivasan, director of the Abdus Salman International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP) in Trieste, Italy, where the Ramanujan Prize was set up and awarded for the first time in 2005.

The 2006 Ramanujan Prize will be awarded during a special ceremony 18 December at ICTP in Trieste. Lennart Carleson, the 2006 Abel Laureate, will present the prize to Professor Ramdorai Sujatha.

Professor Ramdorai Sujatha of the Tata Institute of Fundamental Research received all her education in India and has been with TIFR since 1985, where she is now Associate Professor in the School of Mathematics.

The Ramanujan Prize is awarded to Dr. Sujatha in recognition of her work on the arithmetic of algebraic varieties and her substantial contributions to non-commutative Iwasawa theory. In particular, together with Coates, Fukaya, Kato, and Venjakob, she formulated a non-commutative version of the main conjecture of Iwasawa theory, which now drives much of the work in this important subject.

The international selection committee has consisted of Professors Bernt Øksendal (University of Oslo, Norway), Jacob Palis (Instituto de Matematica Pura e Aplicada, Brazil), Peter Sarnak (Princeton, USA), Le Dung Trang (ICTP, Italy) and Srinivasa Varadhan (Courant, USA).

Photo:

Professor Ramdorai Sujatha (44), Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, will receive the Ramanujan Prize for 2006